Opened 8 years ago

Closed 8 years ago

Last modified 8 years ago

#10425 closed Bug Report - General (Invalid)

mythmusic playlist looses tracks after fe exit

Reported by: warpme@… Owned by: paulh
Priority: minor Milestone: unknown
Component: Plugin - MythMusic Version: Master Head
Severity: medium Keywords: mythmusic, playlist
Cc: Ticket locked: no

Description

Hi, I'm on v0.25pre-4885-g177fdbb-dirty-20120309. BE is Archlinux, FE is minimyth. I have problem with mythmusic playlists. Going to tree view, selecting tracks, choosing save them as playlist works OK. I can select this playlist again, I see all tracks, etc. In other word mytmusic behaves as expected. Unfortunately after exiting fe, playlist track info is lost. Looking into DB table "music_playlist" shows fresh entry for just created playlist but without any track in it. It looks like fe writes track list to DB cache (so I see tracks till fe exit), but playlist tracks are not stored into DB. I'm attaching fe log with --verbose all,extra,nogui - but I dint't see in it anything related to myth music. Strange. What is more interesting - few weeks ago all was working OK so for me it looks like issue is caused by last week or two commits.

Attachments (1)

fe.log.zip (6.9 KB) - added by warpme@… 8 years ago.
FE log

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (4)

Changed 8 years ago by warpme@…

Attachment: fe.log.zip added

FE log

comment:1 Changed 8 years ago by warpme@…

It looks like issue is depended how I exit FE. If it is exited "gently" - via FE command to exit - it looks like songs are written to DB exactly at FE exit phase. It if is i.e. killed (kill -9) they are lost. Despite kill -9 shouldn't be used beside extreme cases - situation where tracks are written to DB at FE exit is less than optimal - as i.e. in case when FE segfaults - all recent user changes to playlist will be lost :-\

comment:2 Changed 8 years ago by paulh

Resolution: Invalid
Status: newclosed

Ah just typed something out asking if you shutdown your FE cleanly but you beat me to it.

MythMusic has always saved the playlists when shutting down so nothing has changed there. It is on my todo list to save the playlists when they are changed which does make more sense but that will have to wait till after 0.25 is out.

I'm going to close as invalid because it's actually working as it was designed to and because killing the FE like that just isn't supported and definitely not recommended.

comment:3 Changed 8 years ago by warpme@…

Paul, Now it is clear for me. I have one Q: is it possible to move playlist writing from fe exiting to mythmusic exiting ? You know, when You spent 2h for building my favorite playlist and later fe crashed (during video playback or LiveTV start) all Your 2h work was lost. I had such case and believe me - my feeling are very mixed after such accident....

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.