Modify

Opened 2 years ago

Closed 4 weeks ago

#12463 closed Bug Report - Memory Leak (Fixed)

entering "previously recorded" screen gives HUGE memory allocation on FE

Reported by: warpme@… Owned by: pbennett
Priority: minor Milestone: 30.0
Component: MythTV - General Version: Master Head
Severity: medium Keywords:
Cc: Ticket locked: no

Description

Entering "previously recorded" screen gives HUGE RSS allocation (1.9G in my case) of FE. Any attempt to sort increases this. I can easily go to 3-4G of RSS allocation which renders system unusable due lack of RAM.

Attachments (0)

Change History (7)

comment:1 Changed 2 years ago by stuarta

From discussion on IRC this is potentially in the fanart code

comment:2 Changed 2 years ago by stuartm

Probably not exclusively so, we don't load on demand in that screen and for a system which is recording 24/7 or just very old, the previously recorded list will be huge in itself. We should switch to a paging model.

comment:3 Changed 2 years ago by natanojl

You can try disabling the background loading of the list by commenting out line 1571 in proglist.cpp as a workaround, https://github.com/MythTV/mythtv/blob/master/mythtv/programs/mythfrontend/proglist.cpp#L1571.

comment:4 Changed 2 years ago by warpme@…

@natanojl, Indeed commenting out line 1571 helps. Thx!

comment:5 Changed 2 months ago by pbennett

  • Owner set to pbennett
  • Status changed from new to assigned

comment:6 Changed 2 months ago by pbennett

Line numbers have changed. I think line 1571 was referring to this line at that time

 m_progList->LoadInBackground();

See also #13096 for a temporary solution, by reducing the number of entries returned in "Previously Recorded".

Long term fix is to redesign the previously recorded screen.

comment:7 Changed 4 weeks ago by pbennett

  • Milestone changed from unknown to 30.0
  • Resolution set to Fixed
  • Status changed from assigned to closed

Fixed via ticket #13135

Add Comment

Modify Ticket

Action
as closed The owner will remain pbennett.
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'new'.
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.