Modify
Warning Please read the Ticket HowTo before creating or commenting on a ticket. Failure to do so may cause your ticket to be rejected or result in a slower response.

Opened 7 years ago

Closed 6 years ago

#3279 closed patch (duplicate)

Improve server reconnect/wakeup method

Reported by: anonymous Owned by: ijr
Priority: minor Milestone: unknown
Component: mythtv Version: head
Severity: medium Keywords: wakeup reconnect connect timeout server context
Cc: mythtv-dev@… Ticket locked: no

Description

This patch improves the server reconnect attempt used in mythcontext.

A mythbusydialog is displayed while myth is trying to connect rather than just appearing with a blank background and a log message (dialog is disabled when a mythcontext server connection is made without a gui - eg. with mythshutdown).

The reconnect algorithm is adjusted such that:

  1. Wakeup command is executed.
  2. Myth attempts to open a connection to the backend once every second until the reconnect timeout occurs or a connection is established.
  3. If the reconnect timeout is reached, the wakeup command will be issued again (as before), unless the max number of attempts have been executed.

This is more efficient than before, where the reconnect attempt would not retry until the next wake command is executed.

Attachments (2)

backend_connect.diff (2.9 KB) - added by devel@… 7 years ago.
Mythcontext server reconnect improvements
backend-reconnect-180707.diff (2.9 KB) - added by devel@… 7 years ago.
updated patch for server reconnect

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (4)

Changed 7 years ago by devel@…

Mythcontext server reconnect improvements

Changed 7 years ago by devel@…

updated patch for server reconnect

comment:1 Changed 6 years ago by Matthew Wire <devel@…>

This is included as part of #4184 which extends the backend reconnect function that mythtv-setup can be configured to start/stop the backend and different commands are used depending on whether the master backend is local or not.

As such, this ticket can be closed.

comment:2 Changed 6 years ago by paulh

  • Resolution set to duplicate
  • Status changed from new to closed

Replaced by #4184

Add Comment

Modify Ticket

Action
as closed .
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'new'.
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.