Opened 5 years ago

Closed 5 years ago

Last modified 3 years ago

#11407 closed Bug Report - General (Won't Fix)

Mythvideo deletes wrong file when metadata switched off, followed by crash

Reported by: Jonathan Hough <jh10@…> Owned by:
Priority: minor Milestone: unknown
Component: MythTV - Video Library Version: 0.26-fixes
Severity: medium Keywords:
Cc: Ticket locked: no

Description

To Reproduce

mythtv@mythtv:/myth/videos$ touch a b c d e f

In mythfrontend (Using the MythCenter 1.1 theme): Media Library->Watch videos->[menu]->Settings, Check only Enable metadata in file browser.

Restart mythfrontend.

From Watch Videos, select file e, hit the D key, and confirm you want to delete the file.

Result

The selected file (e) disappears from the list but in fact file a was deleted.

mythtv@mythtv:/myth/videos$ ls
b c d e f

Subsequent attempts to delete the highlighted file produce the error "failed to delete file". Moving the cursor around the file list will crash the frontend.

Change History (4)

comment:1 in reply to:  description Changed 5 years ago by Jonathan Hough <jh10@…>

Replying to Jonathan Hough <jh10@…>:

In mythfrontend (Using the MythCenter 1.1 theme): Media Library->Watch videos->[menu]->Settings, Check only Enable metadata in file browser.

Correction: Check only Display unknown file types. Enable metadata in file browser should be deselected.

comment:2 Changed 5 years ago by Raymond Wagner

Resolution: Won't Fix
Status: newclosed

The use of file browse mode has been highly recommended against for years, and is slated for removal prior to 0.27. No sense fixing code that is just going to get deleted anyway.

comment:3 in reply to:  2 Changed 5 years ago by Jonathan Hough <jh10@…>

Replying to wagnerrp:

The use of file browse mode has been highly recommended against for years

Yes, hitting Change View->Browse Library (recommended) does appear to prevent the risk of data loss. Thanks for the workaround.

comment:4 Changed 3 years ago by robert_perlberg@…

It's August 2015 and I just lost a file because of this bug. I accept that the file browse mode is being eliminated, but I didn't see anything anywhere warning of this bug. This is a serious bug which I had no way of knowing about until it caused me to lose data. If this is a known problem, and has been for years, you should either put in a bag fat warning message or block the delete function so that more people don't have to lose files to find out about it.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.