Modify
Warning Please read the Ticket HowTo before creating or commenting on a ticket. Failure to do so may cause your ticket to be rejected or result in a slower response.

Opened 3 years ago

Closed 3 years ago

Last modified 3 years ago

#9671 closed Patch - Bug Fix (fixed)

Pulseaudio stream default volume should not be set when not using it

Reported by: mythmm@… Owned by: jyavenard
Priority: major Milestone: 0.24.1
Component: MythTV - Audio Output Version: 0.24-fixes
Severity: medium Keywords:
Cc: Ticket locked: no

Description

When using pulseaudio ouput, mythtv passes "initial stream volume" parameter
but never adjusts the "stream volume" anymore and touches "master volume".

This results in weird and annoying behavior:
Last playback affects next playback's real volume.

Example:
I play a recording.. it ends at 10% of volume.
mythtv remembers that value.
I start a recording.. mythtv sets the master volume to 10% AND initial stream volume to 10% (never changing when pressing F10/F11)
This results in state, when 100% volume in mythtv means 10% in reality.

I have discussed this issue with pulseaudio devs.. quote: "the volume parameter should be NULL unless you really know what are you doing and not just think you know"

one-line patch attached

Thanks for allowing anonymous bug reports... You can ping me on #mythtv-users (MMlosh)

Attachments (1)

myth_pulse.patch (495 bytes) - added by mythmm@… 3 years ago.
patch

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (3)

Changed 3 years ago by mythmm@…

patch

comment:1 Changed 3 years ago by Jean-Yves Avenard

  • Milestone changed from unknown to 0.24.1
  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from new to closed

Fix initial pulseaudio volume.

Fixes #9671.

Thanks to mythmm@… for the report and patch

Changeset: c2baf1b223846e955db2b338ef36c9210329ca7a

comment:2 Changed 3 years ago by Jean-Yves Avenard

Fix initial pulseaudio volume.

Fixes #9671.

Thanks to mythmm@… for the report and patch

Changeset: 68578e01a2a37a8b4550b4b956174afe0f621994

Add Comment

Modify Ticket

Action
as closed .
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'new'.
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.