Opened 12 years ago

Closed 12 years ago

#3788 closed enhancement (fixed)

instead of deleting a show, mark it for auto-expire and put in a "deleted" group

Reported by: skamithi Owned by: skamithi
Priority: minor Milestone: 0.21
Component: mythtv Version: head
Severity: medium Keywords:
Cc: Ticket locked: no

Description

there was talk on irc/alias a little while ago (i think) about doing something like this.

been using this patch for about a week and i like it.

when you attempt to delete the show, it is placed in the "Deleted" recgroup and autoexpire is turned on.

option is configurable through the auto-expire settings page.

program should not appear from the main program list. to "undelete" the show, select the "deleted" recording group view and "undelete" the recording.

made some changes to mythweb so I can undelete the show from the "deleted" recording group.

not sure if this patch requires a myth protocol version change, since it introduces the "UNDELETE_RECORDING" command.

thoughts/comments are always welcome.

Attachments (4)

expire_not_delete.diff (11.9 KB) - added by skamithi 12 years ago.
expire_not_delete.2.diff (13.8 KB) - added by skamithi 12 years ago.
expire_not_delete.3.diff (11.2 KB) - added by skamithi 12 years ago.
patch i've been using for the last couple of weeks.
ignore_programs_in_deleted_recgroups.diff (559 bytes) - added by skamithi 12 years ago.
ignore programs in "Deleted" recgroup during scheduling checks.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (19)

Changed 12 years ago by skamithi

Attachment: expire_not_delete.diff added

comment:1 Changed 12 years ago by skamithi

Owner: changed from Isaac Richards to skamithi
Status: newassigned

Changed 12 years ago by skamithi

Attachment: expire_not_delete.2.diff added

Changed 12 years ago by skamithi

Attachment: expire_not_delete.3.diff added

patch i've been using for the last couple of weeks.

comment:2 Changed 12 years ago by skamithi

Milestone: unknown0.21

comment:3 Changed 12 years ago by skamithi

(In [14483]) Refs #3788 new feature. ability to "undelete" a recording. to turn on this feature to go the Auto expire setting window under TV Settings->General. instead of deleting a show, it is placed a "Deleted" recording group and auto expire is turned on. a "deleted" show will be auto expired before a show with a normal expiry setting. to undelete the show, access the Deleted Recording group view under the playback box, or through mythweb under the Deleted recording group section in the Recorded Programs. increments MYTH_PROTO_VERSION.

comment:4 Changed 12 years ago by skamithi

I need some feedback/help on reporting stats on how much space is taken by files marked for deletion. I have a single mythbackend. I'm not sure how this feature works on multiple backends.

comment:5 Changed 12 years ago by Matt Rude <mythtv@…>

When you delete a show in the "Watch Recordings" Screen the delete prompt dose not display. The prompt works fine when watching a recording.

comment:6 Changed 12 years ago by skamithi

(In [14495]) Refs #3788. fix typo that is causing the issue reported by Matt Rude.

comment:7 in reply to:  4 Changed 12 years ago by neil@…

Replying to skamithi:

I need some feedback/help on reporting stats on how much space is taken by files marked for deletion. I have a single mythbackend. I'm not sure how this feature works on multiple backends.

I was looking at this yesterday. The status reports for both the frontend and mythweb should be changed to include something like 'total space of unexpired recordings' including a handy percentage value. The overall usage is still of interest but no longer as important if one uses this patch.

Is this the sort of feedback you were after? I had hoped to get time to put a patch together but as yet that hasn't happened ...

comment:8 Changed 12 years ago by skamithi

Version: unknownhead

comment:9 Changed 12 years ago by xris

(In [14536]) Add translation strings missing from [14483], re #3788

comment:10 Changed 12 years ago by skamithi

(In [14567]) Closes #4017 Refs #3788. fix empty recorded program listing after deleting on-going recording when "move to deleted recgroup" feature is enabled.

comment:11 Changed 12 years ago by skamithi

(In [14619]) Closes #4056 Refs #3788. if filesize < 1mb don't mark the show for deletion if this feature is enabled , just delete it.

Changed 12 years ago by skamithi

ignore programs in "Deleted" recgroup during scheduling checks.

comment:12 Changed 12 years ago by skamithi

(In [14623]) Refs #4056 Refs #3788. make scheduler ignore programs in the 'Deleted' recgroup. patch provided by xris.

comment:13 Changed 12 years ago by Janne Grunau

(In [14935]) Refs #3788. Don't move recordings deleted by the auto expirer to the deleted recgroup

comment:14 Changed 12 years ago by xris

Does the auto-expirer only expire things to free up space? If not, should probably still move things to the deleted recgroup, and only delete for real if they are already in the deleted recgroup.

comment:15 Changed 12 years ago by Janne Grunau

Resolution: fixed
Status: acceptedclosed

I think the implementation is fairly complete with [15809], so closing the ticket as fixed

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.